Highlights include the struggle and work of former student leaders

By: José Bermúdez

During the VIII Student Congress, the current leaders of UNEN URACCAN highlighted the hard work done by the former presidents of this student movement who represented at the time the four campuses that make up this house of intercultural higher education, through recognitions given by the rector Alta Hooker and the current student leaders.

The delivery of these recognitions was "for his outstanding work in the years of student leadership, from the organization, strengthening and contributions to the consolidation of the student unit, favorable to the Autonomy of Peoples and the Intercultural Community University"


The honorees correspond to: Dr. William Oswaldo Flores López, who served as president of UNEN URACCAN, in the New Guinea precinct, from 2010-2011, as well as master Moisés Castro, former president of UNEN, New Guinea, from 2012, to 2015.

While at the Bluefields venue, they awarded the master's degree Rigoberto Rostrán, former president UNEN-URACCAN, during 2012-2014, as well as the bachelorship Iria Kelsha Salazar, former president UNEN-URACCAN, in 2013-2015.

From Las Minas, to Deyling Uriel Torres, former vice president of URACCAN, in the period 2016-2019, to engineer Ulysses Loaisiga, former president AE-URACCAN, 2010-2013, former national UNEN President, 2013-2016. In addition, the former president of UNEN-URACCAN of the Bilwi compound was recognized.

Not to mention the former leaders of the electoral committees, Mr. Yeltsin Alvares, former vice-president of the URACCAN electoral committee, in 2018, 2020, and the graduate Elsa María Robles Rojas, former president of URACCAN's national committee, 2015-2018.

Although the former student leaders were not in attendance, the engineer Alvaro Quinto, former president AE-URACCAN, Bluefields venue 2004-2006, the graduate David Bucardo, former president AE-URACCAN, of the New Guinea 2006-2009 venue, and the engineer Wing Leon Lau, former President AE-URACCAN, of the Bilwi venue, were also recognized for their outstanding work.